Greg Kinnear and Diane Lane join the final season of House of Cards


The cast of House of Cards just added to all-star actors as Greg Kinnear and Diane Lane will join its final season.

As House of Cards restarts production on its final season — sans Kevin Spacey — Robin Wright is poised to take center stage as Claire Underwood will make her bid to hold onto the presidency of the United States, while dodging bullets from her opponents who would see the White House rid of the Underwoods for good.

Joining Wright, this season, will be Academy Award-nominated actors Greg Kinnear and Diane Lane. As Deadline reports, not much is known about their characters, except that they will portray siblings. Confirmed actors joining Kinnear and Lane for the final season of House of Cards will be:

  • Robin Wright — Claire Underwood
  • Michael Kelly — Doug Stamper
  • Jayne Atkinson — Secretary of State Catherine Durant
  • Patricia Clarkson — Jane Davis
  • Constance Zimmer — Janine Skorsky
  • Derek Cecil — Seth Grayson
  • Campbell Scott — Mark Usher
  • Boris McGiver — Tom Hammerschmidt

As you may remember, production on House of Cards season 6 was just underway when sexual misconduct allegations were made toward Frank Underwood actor Kevin Spacey. The season was set to originally have 13 episodes, but after the Netflix fired Spacey, the show’s future was left in doubt.

Soon after, Netflix righted the ship by announcing there would, in fact, be a final season of House of Cards, and it would be Robin Wright’s Claire Underwood who would take on the main lead of the show. The originally slated 13 episodes were cut down to eight, and that’s where it stands now.

Next: House of Cards to return for final season with Claire Underwood as President

There is no premiere date set, for now, on House of Cards season 6, its final season.