HBO releases new His Dark Materials trailer


The premiere of His Dark Materials is quickly approaching. A new trailer provides a further glimpse of the new HBO series.

His Dark Materials fans don’t have to wait too much longer for season one, but a new trailer will help bridge the gap until the show’s debut. The sneak-peek seems to feature demons in the form of leopards, monkeys and a bear.

Season one of the show, based on Phillip Pullman’s award-winning trilogy, debuts Monday, November 4th on HBO (BBC debut November 3rd). The show follows Lyra, “a seemingly ordinary but brave young woman from another world,” per HBO’s description.

"“Her search for a kidnapped friend uncovers a sinister plot involving stolen children and becomes a quest to understand a mysterious phenomenon called Dust.”"

Notable cast members include James McAvoy as Lord Asriel, Ruth Wilson as Mrs. Coulter and Lin-Manuel Miranda as Lee Scoresby. The series, which was filmed in Wales, is being adapted by Jack Thorne (Broadway’s Harry Potter and the Cursed Child) and has already been green-lit for two eight-episode seasons.

His Dark Materials might not be quite the “Game of Thrones replacement” HBO is looking for, but the enthusiasm around the series shouldn’t be underappreciated. The excitement surrounding the trailer’s release could be an indicator of what’s to come, and it shouldn’t be surprising if the show captivates the internet’s attention come November. Game of Thrones wasn’t a “household name” either when the show premiered back in 2011. Maybe His Dark Materials could follow a similar trajectory.

Next. 11 Netflix originals to binge in October. dark

Produced by Bad Wolf and New Line Cinema, the show also features Anne-Marie Duff, Clarke Peters, Ariyon Bakare, Ian Gelder, Georgina Campbell, Lucian Msamati, James Cosmo, Mat Fraser, Geoff Bell, Simon Manyonda, Lewin Lloyd, Daniel Frogson and Tyler Howitt.

Executive producers for the show include Dan McCulloch, Jane Tranter, Joel Collins and Julie Gardner for Bad Wolf; Philip Pullman, Jack Thorne, Tom Hooper, Otto Bathhurst, Deborah Forte, Toby Emmerich and Carolyn Blackwood for New Line Cinema and Ben Irving and Piers Wenger for BBC One.

Source: Deadline