Game of Thrones does something completely different for this year’s Emmys


Game of Thrones will submit Emilia Clarke and Kit Harington as lead actors for this year’s Emmy considerations.

Game of Thrones is changing things up for this year’s Emmys. The series submitted Emilia Clarke and Kit Harington for Outstanding Leads in a Drama this year for the seventh season.

Why is this a big deal? They never did this before.

More from Game of Thrones

Typically, Game of Thrones submits all of their actors for supporting acting categories. According to Entertainment Weekly, the cast is so massive, that each character has limited screen time.

But during this past season, some characters received more screen time because their storylines are finally crossing. Clarke, who plays Daenerys Targaryen, and Harington, who plays Jon Snow, shared many scenes together, much to fans’ delight.

The Emmys nominated Clarke and Harington for supporting categories in the past; Harington in 2016 and Clarke in 2013, 2015, and 2016. Both actors never won.

Could this be their year?

The show itself is the most winningest Primetime Drama in Emmy history. But the show’s actors never seem to get the same love from the awards ceremony that the fans have for it.

Peter Dinklage won two out six times for playing Tyrion Lannister. In addition to Clarke and Harington, the Emmys nominated Lena Heady three times for her work as Cersei Lannister and Maisie Williams once for her role as Arya Stark.

Could it be that all Game of Thrones has to do is switch up the category submissions? This year will be stacked with talent, I’m sure.

Next: Game of Thrones 7 best episodes

According to early predictions from IndieWire, Clarke could face last year’s winner Elisabeth Moss (The Handmaid’s Tale), Claire Foy (The Crown), and Viola Davis (How to Get Away with Murder). Harington could face Jason Bateman (Ozark), Sterling K. Brown (This is Us), and Freddie Highmore (The Good Doctor).

We’ll find out if our beloved Game of Thrones actors gets nominated for Emmys on July 13, 2018.